TV Babysitter Shocker!

I have a confession to make and you’re probably not going to like it. I use the TV as a babysitter on a regular basis. Shock, horror!!

Yes, it’s true. If I didn’t have the TV on in the morning, I honestly wouldn’t get anything done around the house. Dishes would sit festering for the best part of the day, we’d never have any clean clothes to wear, and the dust would be an inch thick – possibly handy for Toddler to practice his doodling in when we run out of paper, but not something I’d like to encourage.

Apparently, it’s recommended that young children watch no more than half an hour of TV a day, and some (including Dr Aric Sigman) are advocating that children under three watch no TV at all. I’m guessing that these people have no idea what it is like to try and run a house with two very small children in tow. At least I only let them watch CBeebies, which is kind of educational – Toddler loves counting along with the NumTums and Timmy Time always has a moral to the tale, whether it’s about sharing, or trying to achieve things even when they seem difficult. I admit that my guilty pleasure is Show Me, Show Me, I think it reminds me of PlaySchool which was on when I was a nipper.

I’m not trying to make excuses by saying that TV is educational, and I definitely don’t keep it on all day; I certainly don’t allow the ‘brain-rot’ channels as I call them i.e. the ones with pointless programmes that seem to cram in as many adverts as possible within a 15-minute period. I think in moderation however, it can be a lifeline for mums and tots alike. So thank you Dr Sigman, but I shall continue to allow Toddler to watch CBeebies whilst I get the housework done. Now if you’ll excuse me, I must dash as Show Me, Show Me is about to start.

